The Early Bird Gets the Worm

No comments

Most of us have heard the old saying, “The early bird gets the worm”, but do we live by that concept? I’ll be honest; I don’t. I’m so bad at being on time, it’s a little embarrassing. In my defense, I am a mom of three and things can get crazy, but, the kids are well past the age where I can use them as a valid reason for my chronic lateness. It’s this “chronic lateness” that inspired me to add “Break a Bad Habit” to my 40 Days to 40 list. Lord, help me.

Disclaimer: I am from New Orleans and I’d like to begin and end with that statement, but I must elaborate.  Even though I’m kidding (a bit), there is something about that city that makes you want to slow down and enjoy things around you. When I was a little girl, I would walk around the neighborhood and talk to the neighbors sitting on their porches. It was the best time for me, and I guess it doesn’t help that I’ve always been a talker. You could walk in the Circle Food Grocery store and talk to your neighbor or someone you went to school with, or your Nannie’s good friend that you hadn’t seen in ages. Often times, the conversation could go on for so long that you would end up having to switch out your cold goods for colder ones because they were luke warm by the time you were done. I know I’m romanticizing a bit, but we don’t call it “The Big Easy” for nothing. Obviously, I can’t make my hometown responsible for my vice, but I will say it’s  a contributing factor. How’s that?

Maybe I could blame my grandparents for my late nature, because their shenanigans were comical. Both my mom and dad’s parents were very social people, but watching my dad’s parents get ready for an evening out was pure comedy.

The evening would start with Big Daddy (my grandfather) dressed and ready to go– long before my grandmother (MaGen…short for Mama Gen). By the time Gen could put a foot in her panty hose, Big Daddy was ready and patiently sitting on the edge of the bed. Moving from the edge of the bed to a chair (because I’m pretty sure moving made him feel like he may eventually leave the house), he would say,  “Are you almost ready, Genevieve?” She’d reply with a dry, “Almost”, and continue to fiddle with her earrings or teas her hair. Fifteen minutes later, he’d make a bigger move to the sofa in the living room and sit on the edge, hoping his move closer to the door would somehow create a sense of urgency. Maybe she needed to see how ready he was, and that would motivate her to pick up the pace. Maybe.

“What ‘cha doing back there, Gen?”, he’d yell, and without missing a beat, she’d reply, “I’m coming, man…just wait.” Unfortunately, he knew he had, at minimum, another twenty minutes to wait. What seemed like twenty minutes later, his last resort was to call in the BIG guns…me. “Go see what your Mama Gen is doing back there.”, he’d say. “I don’t know what is taking her so damn long. We’re going to miss the whole damn party.” Feeling sorry for him,  I’d march to the room with one thing on my mind, and that was to get her out of that room. I’d find her in the mirror teasing her hair and complaining that the dress she had on didn’t feel right, so I’d spend ten minutes trying to convince her it was perfect. After all, poor Big Daddy wouldn’t be able to handle an outfit change.

After fixing the clasp on her necklace and picking up her purse to give her no excuse to make another detour, I’d finally manage to get her out of the room…whew. Proud of my accomplishment, I’d return to the living room to show Big Daddy the battle was finally won, but by that time, he would be leaning against the car…his final move in hopes to leave the house before the party ended. Finally…they were on their way.

I know what you’re thinking, and no, I’m not trying to blame Gen for my “slow” nature, but it’s got to come from somewhere, right? It’s genetic, yes?

Sidenote: If anyone EVER tells my grandmother I blame her for my lateness, I’ll deny it.

All jokes aside, I’ve realized being late is not a good example for the kids, so I must do better. Being late is a sign of selfishness. It represents a lack of care or concern for other people’s time and quite frankly, that’s not what I want my kids or myself to represent. Don’t go overboard and think I’m going to change overnight. I’m a work in progress, but I will make an effort to do much better.

Thanks, Big Daddy.

Black

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment